Dr. Travis Burns, Ed.D.

Connect. Engage. Inspire.

ORGANIZATIONAL DISSENT SCALE IN SCHOOLS

WisconsinCapitalRally19FEB2011_mrbula-FlickrOrganizational dissent may be defined as expressions of disagreement or contradictory opinions regarding contextual phenomena (Kassing, 1997). The topic of organizational dissent has been vastly understudied in the context of schools. Educational researchers have focused on similar behaviors such as voice, organizational commitment, and job satisfaction.  Understanding organizational dissent in the context of schools has the potential to improve teacher-principal relationships as well as provide insights into its antecedents and consequences.   Further research on organizational dissent may also help principals modify leadership styles and behaviors to become more effective in building momentum toward efforts aimed at promoting student achievement.  The development of the Organizational Dissent in Schools Scale (ODSS) is necessitated by the lack of research on the topic of organizational dissent in schools.  The ODSS is an untested adaptation of Kassing’s (1998) Organizational Dissent Scale.  If you are a teacher or school administrator, please review the ODSS for ambiguity, conventions, and difficulty.  Feel free to offer feedback in the comments section below or email me at Dr.TravisBurns@gmail.com.  

Organizational Dissent Scale in Schools 

ODSS

Directions:  The following statements are about your school. Please indicate the extent to which you agree with each of the following statements along a scale from STRONGLY DISAGREE (1) to STRONGLY AGREE (6). 

 

1. I am hesitant to raise questions or contradictory opinions in my school.

  1      2      3      4      5      6

 

2. I refuse to discuss concerns about my school at home.      

  1      2      3      4      5      6

 

 

3. I criticize ineffectiveness in this school in front of everyone.

 

  1      2      3      4      5      6

4. I do not question the principal.

  1      2      3      4      5      6

 

5. I’m hesitant to question school policies.

  1      2      3      4      5      6

 

6. I join in when other teachers complain about change in my school.

  1      2      3      4      5      6

 

7. I make it a habit not to complain about my school in front of my family.

  1      2      3      4      5      6

 

8. I make certain everyone knows when I’m unhappy with school decisions and policies.

 

  1      2      3      4      5      6

 

9. I don’t tell my principal when I disagree with his or her decisions.

 

  1      2      3      4      5      6

10. I discuss my concerns about the principal’s decisions with family and friends outside of school.

 

  1      2      3      4      5      6

11. I bring my criticism about changes that aren’t working to my principal or someone else in a position of school leadership.

 

  1      2      3      4      5      6

12. I let other teachers know how I feel about the way things are done around here.

  1      2      3      4      5      6

 

13. I speak with my principal or someone in a position of school leadership when I question decisions.

 

  1      2      3      4      5      6

14. I rarely voice my frustrations about issues at my school in front of my spouse/partner or nonwork friends.

 

  1      2      3      4      5      6

15. I make suggestions to my principal about correcting ineffectiveness.

 

  1      2      3      4      5      6

16. I talk about my job concerns to people outside of work.

 

  1      2      3      4      5      6

17. I do not express my disagreement to the principal.

 

  1      2      3      4      5      6

18. I hardly ever complain to my coworkers about school problems.

 

  1      2      3      4      5      6

19. I tell the principal when I believe individuals are being treated unfairly at school.

  1      2      3      4      5      6

 

20. I talk with family and friends about administrative decisions that I am uncomfortable discussing at school.

 

  1      2      3      4      5      6

Kassing, J. W. (1997). Articulating, antagonizing, and displacing: A model of employee dissent. Communication Studies, 48, 311-332.

 

Kassing, J. W. (1998). Development and validation of the organizational dissent scale. Management Communication Quarterly, 12(2), 183-229.

DO NOT CITE WITHOUT PERMISSION

Leave a Reply

Follow on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Readicide

